Piracy; really just a question of morality?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

top_lel

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 5

#1 top_lel
Member since 2014 • 886 Posts

After seeing the recent trend of utilizing DRM to it's fullest to stop piracy. I'm compelled to make another topic on this rehashed subject. But this time, it'll be a from a pirate's point of view.

Most of the people believe (usually, the first-world ppl) that piracy is actually one's unwillingness to spend money on something. But in reality, that's just a pixel of a 4k screen. In my experience, almost all of the pirates I've ever seen or met, pirated games because they couldn't buy them. Don't get me wrong now, it's not that they've a bad job or something. It's just something that they can't be blamed for. It was not their choice to born in a third world country. Take me for an example, I'm a High School student. The concept of part-time job is non-existent. Even if you are in College, that concept is still a far fetched one. So people here rely on their parents till they get a 'proper' job of their own. Now my dad never prohibits me from buying games. But the reason why I still don't, is that, I'll be putting a big Goddamn burden on my whole family if I do. My father has a diploma in Cardiology and has an MRCP degree. But just because he's living in a third world country, his salary is a disappointingly dazzling $1000. $100 every month goes for the house rent, $400 for the utility bills (just last month's electricity bill came with an awesome figure of $360), $100 for my brother and my School fee and the rest goes for the miscellaneous.

In the end, there are hardly any savings left. So, now I ask you, is a $60 game affordable for us? of course not.

The most logical option is to NOT play any games. And that's certainly justified well. Games are a form of entertainment, and any entertainment is luxury. Luxury is not someone's right.