I'm a solo game dev, and I want to make a sci-fi comedy console RPG. Any advice?

sanghelle56

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 1

#1 sanghelle56
Member since 2017 • 502 Posts

Okay...so, I've noticed how funny science fiction is seeing a resurgence with TV and movies ( The Orville, Guardians of the Galaxy, etc ). But there's barely any representation of this genre in video games. I'm looking to change this as best I as I can.

If anything, this is something that's got to involve a full team, not just me. But for now all I can do is experiment with Blender and Unity.

All I can say about my game is that I want it to have character creation at the beginning from one of twelve species ( including humans ), and the player goes on from there to complete a tedious main quest. There's supposed to be humor and funny elements of everything from the combat to dialogue to side quests.

I feel like this could work if it was on platforms like the One and PS4. Not giving anything else away, as it's still just an idea in my head. So any advice?

pyro1245

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 10

User Lists: 0

#2 pyro1245
Member since 2003 • 9436 Posts

Make the animations independent of frame rate. Do your due diligence and design it to run on a wide array of hardware so you can easily run it on many systems - easier to port to other platforms and such.

That said, I've never used Unity. I tend to like to start from scratch (ish), but I guess I'm sort of a masochist when it comes to programming. It may be a lot more work but you'll have complete control over everything.

What are you thinking of for graphics? I would probably go toward the Unreal engine if I were making a 3D game. I would probably just start from scratch with SDL or SFML I were doing 2D.

sanghelle56

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3 sanghelle56