Ideas for shoot 'em up?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

seann999

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 seann999
Member since 2011 • 25 Posts
I'm making a simple shoot 'em up just for fun; any ideas like power ups, maps, how you die (hp vs. one-hit death w/ lives), weapons, how weapons work (limited time vs. limited ammo vs. infinite time)... I've gotten a lot of stuff from Dead Ops Arcade (yeah, I know, I should be original, but I thought it wouldn't hurt). I can't say I'm a veteran coder but I'm not an absolute beginner either... Oh, and I want to keep the simple graphics theme, and it's enemies are more like zombies (they don't shoot at you, they chase you)... link: http://shapeshooter.x10.mx/
ionusX

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 8

#3 ionusX
Member since 2009 • 25777 Posts

heres an idea straight from a classic old game that i feel doesnt get enough attention.. drugs mode!

go look it up it was used in carmaggedoon basically the player you hit the powerup then lose all mobility control and the screen would change colors ahahah made for good times.

pills4louis

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4 pills4louis
Member since 2011 • 1331 Posts

Idea: Use a "rank" system. This works by increasing the challenge for how greedy the player is. If they grab a lot of power-ups, make the enemies get much harder (and reset to "default" difficulty at that part of the game when they die) but also make them worth more points. Basically, if the player can keep up with the consequences of grabbing/stacking power-ups, i.e. increasing range, bullet speed, amount of bullets, possible "slave" ships which follow your actions (think the Options from Gradius or the Bit modules from R-Type), etc... then they reap the rewards. The only shmup I've seen limited ammo work well, off the top of my head, was Einhander.

ionusX

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 8

#5 ionusX
Member since 2009 • 25777 Posts