How to make a Batman game!

This topic is locked from further discussion.

theamitgoyal

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 9

User Lists: 0

#1 theamitgoyal
Member since 2007 • 173 Posts

Disclaimer first: I am not an expert. This is my first post on Gamespot forums and this is something I wanted to discuss with other gamers (and Batman fans!) for a long time.

I'm playing Batman Begins these days and even though it's a lot of fun to play, one of the reviews on Gamespot is bang-on: It's not quite there. By trying to introduce Fear Mechanics into the game, they took a step towards capturing what Batman is all about in this Game, but I'm not a huge fan of the excessive platforming present in the Game... even though we all know Batman is a skilled acrobat, there are other aspects to his personality that need more meat in the Batman games to come in the future. So what would be a step towards a good Batman game?

Here's the deal... with so many games over the years, I do not believe it requires huge never-seen-before Innovation to make a kick-ass Batman game. But combining the right aspects from what has been brought to the table over the years would, in my opinion, holds a lot of promise. So here we go....

1. Movie Plot tie-in v/s Original Plot

The next Batman Game should definitely be based on an independant story created especially for the Game, rather than following the next Batman Movie. I think it restricts the freedom a great deal for the developers. That said, making references to older storylines of the comic book series and even the movies would make the Game a huge hit with the seasoned fans of Batman. Imagine a small early subplot mission involving investigating a disturbance at a chemical plan and encountering the "Red Hood" there... and then watching the Red Hood fall in a vat of chemicals (The fans of Batman will know what I'm talking about)

2. Free Roam Map v/s Linear Levels