"Game development is significantly more expensive now" companies complain. How not to make it expensive

PETERAKO

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By PETERAKO
Member since 2007 • 2579 Posts

I'm no economist, and certainly not a developer/publisher. But I think I can see why development is so expensive nowadays. Yes, there is inflation and all that, but there is more than just that. Bellow I write a list of expenses that I consider to be unnecessary and that make producing a game expensive with no reason.

A word of warning! What I will say here might be the most retarded thing ever, but as I said, I'm no expert, I cant really tell.

-CELEBS GIVING VOICE AND LIKENESS

This has to be the most stupid expense a company can make. Hiring a celebrity to have a role in a game. Activision is a major offender. Why they had to hire Kevin Spacey?! And now, with Black ops 3 they hire a bunch of them for their MP mode in addition to some NFL player(that I cant imagine anyone outside the sport has ever heard off) to appear in the game. Why not hire someone else who might not be known, someone who is good, but wont cost you an awful lot of money? Just think about it.

-PROMOTIONAL DEALS ON OTHER PRODUCTS

Second most stupid one. Does anyone remember the halo mountain dew/doritos fiasco? Well, if you do, its not the whole fiasco I want to talk about, but rather about how much money goes into this kind of deals. When I hear that a publisher got into a promotional deal with a snack/drink company, I can't help but flip my....you know what. If that wasn't enough, most of these products don't even go outside of the US of A locking the rest of the world out of it. The only thing I can suggest is to completely stop promotional deals with snack and drink companies.

-OBLIGATORY MULTIPLAYER/SHIFT TOWARDS ONLINE