Expensive or cheap headset for online gaming?

Zen_Light

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 Zen_Light
Member since 2010 • 2143 Posts

What do you guys choose? I'm fairly new to co op multiplayer, and started chatting with friends in the Destiny beta. I absolutely hate that cheap earplug mic that came with the PS4, so I'm getting something better.

The question is: how much better? Been looking at that PS4 Gold wireless 7.1 set but don't know if I want to spend $100 for that. On the opposite side I've also been looking at the $15 variety cheapies.

I know one is a replacement for my sound system and the other is just a slight upgrade over what I have already.

I guess what I want to know is what you guys use and why?

Archangel3371

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 4

#2 Archangel3371
Member since 2004 • 44150 Posts

I like the mid-range headsets, $70 - $100 Turtle Beach are my favourite.

Zen_Light

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3  Edited By Zen_Light

@Archangel3371 said:

So you prefer all audio in the headset as opposed to one ear mic transmissions and one ear for a surround system. How does 7.1 SS in a headset compare to a 5.1 DD open sound system?

Avatar image for Black_Knight_00
Black_Knight_00

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 12

#4 Black_Knight_00
Member since 2007 • 77 Posts

Aways go cheap first. You don't need audio fidelity to hear your buddies swear at the enemy team. The 15 bucks headset will suit you fine, and if you find they don't, you can always upgrade later.

Archangel3371

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#5 Archangel3371

@Zen_Light said:

@Archangel3371 said:

So you prefer all audio in the headset as opposed to one ear mic transmissions and one ear for a surround system. How does 7.1 SS in a headset compare to a 5.1 DD open sound system?

I'm not really a sound buff so all I can say is that they sound very good to me.

Archangel3371

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers