Digital vs Physical Videogames Discussion: Which do you prefer and why?

• 53 results
Noxce

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 Noxce
Member since 2016 • 10 Posts

Hello everyone! I’m an undergraduate student in the United Kingdom. I’m currently doing my dissertation on the impact of digital growth and availability of videogames on consumer propensity to purchase physical copies of videogames. As part of this, I’d love to generate some discussion on the transition from the purchase of physical copies of videogames to the digital versions. Particularly, to what extent are you likely to purchase a digital copy of a videogame over the physical versions, (or vice versa) and why?

Despite some clear benefits to digital content and somewhat steady growth in digital sales, there is still a huge gap between physical and digital sales outside of stores like Steam, e.g. Xbox Live store/PSN Store. I’d love to know your opinion on the digital videogames vs physical videogames debate and I will contribute a few of my opinions to the discussion aswell. If you have a spare moment as a member of the community to contribute an opinion to the discussion, I would greatly appreciate it!

Some of the key points for me as a gamer are as follows:

• · Pricing – Considering the obvious monetary benefits to digitization of videogame content for developers etc., outside of Steam, we as customers really don’t appear to be receiving much of these benefits through reduced digital download costs, particularly on Xbox and PSN Stores. Does the pricing of digital games make you apprehensive to purchase them over say, a second hand copy off of EBay, Amazon, or even a new copy from any number of retailers?
  • · Time – Simply put, it is far quicker in most scenarios, not to mention more convenient, to purchase a digital copy over traveling to a local store or waiting several days (unless you pay extra for one-day delivery) for the physical copy.