All characters unlocked from the beginning...? WHY?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

blankd8ta

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 blankd8ta
Member since 2010 • 87 Posts

Since when did fighters start having all characters unlocked from the start? I bought Tekken 6 and Mortal Combat a while back and pretty much everything was unlocked. The orginial MvC3 had unlockable charcaters, but why didn't Ultimate MvC3? Why did companies start doing this - is this to cator to the competitive online players?I'm not very good at fighters and don't feel like putting in the hours and hours of practice remomorizing complex button inputs so there doesn't seem to be much incentive for me to buy fighters anymore since all the characters are unlocked from the get-go. Costumes really isn't big incentive for me to keep playing a fighter which is usually the only unlockable thing besides music and sounds and stuff usually in current-gen fighters.

My first fighting game was Tekken (infact my first game that was actually mine) and in the past all the characters were locked. That ment when you unlocked a new character it was exciting and you couldn't wait to try them out. Now in my opinion its too overwhelming to have access to 40 or so characters at a time. Furthermore kinda getting tired of casual fighters with the names Naruto and Dragon Ball in the title as the devs seem to be watering down aspects from past games just to make the online more lag-free and such. So, are there any fighters out that have most the characters locked from the beginning? I know a new Tekken and Dead or Alive is coming but im skeptical of getting them seeing as all fighters now have literarly no single-player, only alittle characters in which all charcaters are unlocked from the start.

Avatar image for EichiroNobunaga
EichiroNobunaga

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

#2 EichiroNobunaga
Member since 2010 • 710 Posts