You Can Now Buy Switch Games Using My Nintendo Points

Put your Gold points to use.


Nintendo has rolled out some big changes to the My Nintendo rewards program. My Nintendo members now have the option to use some of the points they've accumulated to purchase certain Switch games from Nintendo's digital store.

Starting now, My Nintendo members can use their Gold points toward the purchase of eligible Switch titles or DLC. Each Gold point you've accumulated is worth $0.01, and you can choose how many you'd like to apply toward your purchase at checkout on either the Eshop or Nintendo's website.

Gold points are one of two point tiers that players can earn on My Nintendo, the other being Platinum. Prior to this change, the amount of Gold points you earned when purchasing a game was based on price tiers. Going forward, however, My Nintendo members will receive five Gold points for every $1 spent when purchasing a game or DLC from the Eshop or Nintendo's website. For example, buying a $60 game digitally will net you 300 Gold points.

If you're a member of My Nintendo, you'll earn Gold points automatically for purchasing Switch, 3DS, and Wii U games from the Eshop. You can also earn points for purchasing physical Switch games, although the amount you receive will be considerably less than for digital purchases. You can read more about the My Nintendo changes on Nintendo's website.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: The Nintendo Switch And The Magic Of Portability

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are 5 comments about this story