Xbox One to Launch Across 28 New Countries in September

Microsoft reveals new release dates for key territories including Japan, China and Russia.

No Caption Provided

Microsoft plans to launch Xbox One across 28 separate countries in September, expanding the console's presence across Asia, South America, Africa and Europe.

Coinciding with the release dates of some of this year's biggest games, from Destiny to FIFA 15, Microsoft plans to ship Xbox Ones across a wide array of new territories and help bolster sales outside its strongholds in the US and UK.

The launch dates for each country follows:

  • September 2 - Chile and Colombia
  • September 4 - Japan
  • September 5 - Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, Slovakia, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Arab Emirates
  • September 15 - Israel
  • September 23 - Hong Kong, India, Korea, Singapore, South Africa, Taiwan, China
  • September 26 - Russia

Microsoft said it plans to launch Xbox One in Argentina soon afterwards.

Xbox One launched across North America and select European countries in November 2013. Since then, Microsoft has shipped about five million units to retailers, but it's not certain how many have sold through to customers.

The products discussed here were independently chosen by our editors. GameSpot may get a share of the revenue if you buy anything featured on our site.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are 283 comments about this story