GameSpot may receive revenue from affiliate and advertising partnerships for sharing this content and from purchases through links.

Xbox One delayed in eight regions

Microsoft delays next-gen platform into 2014 for Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Netherlands, Norway, Russia, Sweden, and Switzerland.


Microsoft today announced the delay of the Xbox One in eight international markets into 2014.

No Caption Provided

Affected countries are Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Netherlands, Norway, Russia, Sweden, and Switzerland.

The next-generation console is still on track to release this November in Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Spain, United Kingdom, United States, and New Zealand.

Microsoft announced in June that the Xbox One would be available in all 21 regions this November. The company said today that the plan was an "aggressive goal."

"While we wish we could launch Xbox One simultaneously in these markets, there are many factors that determine the timing of specific market launches," Microsoft said in a statement. "This includes work to localize the Xbox One dash, incorporate additional voice and languages, and build partnerships to bring apps and meaningful local content to each country."

Microsoft said those in affected markets should reach out to the retailer where they preordered if they have any questions. Anyone in those regions who preordered an Xbox One Day One console before today will also receive an unspecified pack-in game when the system launches.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are 1017 comments about this story