Xbox Live Multiplayer Is Free Right Now On Xbox One, Just In Time For Star Wars Battlefront 2's Beta

No membership required for online play this weekend.

6 Comments

Those without an Xbox Live Gold membership can currently enjoy the core benefit--online multiplayer--free of charge. Microsoft has unlocked online play to all Xbox Live users for the next few days, which is excellent timing with the Star Wars Battlefront II open beta now live.

From now until Monday, October 9, at 11:59 PM PT (2:59 AM ET/7:59 AM BST), a Free Play Days For All event is active. This allows you to play games online on both Xbox One and Xbox 360 without paying for Xbox Live Gold.

One thing that is not included during this free trial period is Games With Gold. The free titles that Xbox Live Gold entitles you to are restricted to those paying for the service. October's Games With Gold freebies for subscribers include Oxenfree, Gone Home, and Rayman 3.

Following an early access period for those who pre-ordered, the Battlefront II open beta is underway across Xbox One, PS4, and PC. It offers four modes and a decent look at what to expect from the full game, which releases on November 17.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Star Wars Battlefront 2 Open Beta Has Arrived

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 6 comments about this story