Writers Guild Award Video Game Nominees Revealed

Alien: Isolation, The Last of Us: Left Behind, Assassin's Creed Unity, and Assassin's Creed: Freedom Cry nominated.

No Caption Provided

On Monday, The Writers Guild of America announced the nominations for "Outstanding Achievement In Video Game Writing" ahead of the group's annual awards show next month.

The nominees are:

  • Alien: Isolation -- (Writers: Dan Abnett, Dion Lay, Will Porter; SEGA)
  • Assassin's Creed Unity -- (Alexandre Amancio, Sylvain Bernard, Travis Stout; Scriptwriting Alexandre Amancio, Travis Stout, Russell Lees, Darby McDevitt, Ceri Young; Additional Scriptwriting Jeffrey Yohalem; Ubisoft)
  • Assassin's Creed: Freedom Cry -- (Lead Scriptwriter Jill Murray; Scriptwriter Melissa MacCoubrey; Story by Jill Murray, Hugo Giard,Wesley Pincombe; Ubisoft)
  • The Last of Us: Left Behind -- (Written by Neil Druckmann; Sony Computer Entertainment)

To be considered for the WGA's Video Game Writing Award, games needed to have been released between December 1, 2013 and November 30, 2014. In addition, their writers needed to be a member of the WGA Video Game Writers Caucus or have applied to become a member.

This year's Writers Guild Awards, which will also name winners for various film and TV categories, will be held Saturday, February 14, 2015. We'll have a list of winners for you when they're announced.

The products discussed here were independently chosen by our editors. GameSpot may get a share of the revenue if you buy anything featured on our site.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 66 comments about this story