When Does Nintendo Switch Online Launch Today? Update And Maintenance Time Confirmed

It may be a late night, depending on where you live.

1 Comments

Nintendo's first paid online service is just hours away, but you may notice a short interruption in online service while it gets rolled out. The Switch online launch will be preceded by a period of server maintenance, after which you'll be able to jump in, sign up for the service, and play some of the classic games being offered.

The Nintendo Support page says that the 6.0 update will go up at 5 PM PT / 8 PM ET, followed by a three hour maintenance period. Once the maintenance completes, around 8 PM PT / 11 PM ET, you can log on to purchase your Nintendo Switch Online membership, but you'll need to update to version 6.0 first.

Nintendo Switch Online offers a free trial week, after which you'll be charged if you don't cancel. It will cost $4 for one month, $8 for a three-month period, and $20 for a 12-month period. You can also get a 12-month family plan for $35. The online service will be required to play most Switch games online, though some like Fortnite are getting a special exception. The online service also offers cloud saves, but it's not universal and you'll lose your saves if you let the subscription lapse.

The service will also launch with a selection of classic NES games for download. It will host 20 upon launch tonight, with more planned to come next month. Check out our wrap-up of everything we know for more details.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Nintendo Switch Online NES Launch Titles Revealed - GS News Update

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 1 comments about this story