Watch Today's World of Warcraft Expansion Announcement Right Here

With subscribers sliding, Blizzard announces the MMO's next expansion, Legion.

Comments

Related
World of Warcraft
Follow

[UPDATE] World of Warcraft's next expansion, Legion, has been announced. Get all the details here.

The original story is below.

It's a big day for Blizzard Entertainment's genre-defining PC MMO World of Warcraft, as the developer on Thursday will announce the game's sixth expansion during a livestream broadcast from Gamescom.

No Caption Provided

The streaming event kicks off at 9 AM PDT / 12 Noon EDT / 6 PM BST. You can watch the entire event through the Twitch embed below, and we'll be sure to break out all the big news as it happens.

With World of Warcraft subscribers sliding, a new expansion could help bring people back. After all, history has shown that new expansions tend to do just that.

The new expansion will be World of Warcraft's sixth. The others are The Burning Crusade (2007), Wrath of the Lich King (2008), Cataclysm (2010), Mists of Pandaria (2012), and Warlords of Draenor (2014).

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

  •   View Comments (0)
    Join the conversation
    There are no comments about this story