Watch The Pokemon Sword And Shield Galar Research Update

Are you looking forward to Pokemon Sword and Shield?

9 Comments
Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Pokemon Sword And Shield - New Team And Rivals Gameplay Reveal Trailer

The Pokemon Company has teased "more information" on its upcoming Pokemon Sword and Shield titles. The new Galar Research Update will drop today, August 7, at 6 AM PT / 9 AM ET / 2 PM BST / 11 PM AET.

We don't yet know what information could be included in the update--the major details such as the games' release date and legendaries have already been revealed. It's possible we could learn more about the games' evil team, who haven't been revealed yet, or see some new creatures.

The most recent Galar Research Update brought news on Gigantamaxing, the Galar Pokemon League, and on the game's Gym Leaders, among other details. We also learned Sword and Shield have version-exclusive gyms--for more check out all the differences between Pokemon Sword and Shield.

The games launch for Nintendo Switch on November 15. It's unclear as of yet how many Pokemon will appear in the game, but we know you won't be able to transfer every old monster to them--a decision that has proven so controversial that the games' producer, Junichi Masuda, had to issue a statement addressing the drama. For more on the titles, be sure to check out our Pokemon Sword and Shield pre-order guide.

In other news, The Pokemon Company announced its plans for a Pokemon Center pop-up store in London in October. The store will be located in Westfield, Shepherd's Bush, with further details to be revealed in the coming months.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 9 comments about this story