Watch Star Wars In Chronological Order On Disney Plus

Star Wars is more than just the movies--if you want to get all caught up before Episode IX, better start now!


Over the course of ten movies and four TV series, Star Wars cover a lot of ground (not to mention space), and it's only getting bigger. In fact, between The Phantom Menace to The Rise of Skywalker, there are 67 years of Jedi, bounty hunting, and transitions of power to keep track of. But when do all these movies take place in the Star Wars timeline, and how do you watch it all on Disney+, chronologically? We're here to help.

As of this writing, there have been 10 Star Wars movies and four series that have been released, including The Mandalorian which has new episodes drop on Fridays on Disney+. And there is still more coming down the line. Episode IX: The Rise of Skywalker comes to theaters on December 20--the first clip was just released--and there are two more Disney+ original series coming in the near future as well about Obi-Wan and Cassian Andor.

There are hundreds of hours of stories that take place within the Star Wars Universe, so figuring out how to watch it all and what order it takes place in can be a bit tasking. So GameSpot has a handy-dandy list below of every movie and TV show within Star Wars canon and when it happens. Don't ask about the Marvel Comics series though. That's a whole other beast.

Below, you'll find the entire Star Wars timeline in chronological order. It's separated into two sections Before the Battle of Yavin (BBY) and After the Battle of Yavin (ABY). The Battle of Yavin is when Luke Skywalker blew up the Death Star in Episode 4: A New Hope.

Additionally, both the Obi-Wan and Cassian Andor Disney+ are on this list, even though they have not been released yet. It doesn't hurt to know when they take place in the Star Wars timeline.

Star Wars Chronology:

Before The Battle of Yavin:

  • Star Wars Episode 1: The Phantom Menace (32 BBY)
  • Star Wars Episode 2: Attack of the Clones (22 BBY)
  • Clone Wars (22-19 BBY)
  • Star Wars Episode 3: Revenge of the Sith (19 BBY)
  • Solo (13-10 BBY)
  • Untitled Obi-Wan Series (Possibly early 2021) (11 BBY)*
  • Rebels (5-1 BBY)**
  • Untitled Cassian Andor Series (No date specified yet, but will be BBY)*
  • Rogue One (0 BBY)
  • Star Wars Episode 4: A New Hope (0 BBY/0 ABY)

After the Battle of Yavin:

  • Star Wars Episode 5: The Empire Strikes Back (3 ABY)
  • Star Wars Episode 6: Return of the Jedi (4 ABY)
  • The Mandalorian (11 ABY)
  • Resistance (34 ABY)
  • Star Wars Episode 7: The Force Awakens (34 ABY)
  • Star Wars Episode 8: The Last Jedi (34 ABY)***
  • Star Wars Episode 9: The Rise of Skywalker (35 ABY)

*Not released yet

**Epilogue to Rebels takes place 4 ABY

***The Last Jedi is coming to Disney+ on December 26.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: The Mandalorian Episode 1 "Chapter 1" Easter Eggs & Breakdown

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are 9 comments about this story