Watch Jedi Fallen Order Gameplay Reveal Live Stream From Star Wars Celebration

The next big Star Wars game is almost ready for its big reveal.

18 Comments

Apex Legends and Titanfall developer Respawn Entertainment is working on a new Star Wars game called Jedi Fallen Order, and it's finally set for its big debut today at Star Wars Celebration. The panel is officially underway, and we're expecting to see gameplay and a release date, among other things. One detail that's been confirmed at Celebration: Jedi Fallen Order has no microtransactions or multiplayer. Here's how and when to watch the panel livestream.

[Update: The panel has revealed the first trailer for Jedi Fallen Order. We're learning details about both the story and its main character, a newcomer to Star Wars named Cal Kestis. He's played by Cameron Monaghan of Gotham and Shameless fame. Before the panel could deliver the release date, it was listed in the YouTube description of the trailer: It releases on November 15 for PS4, Xbox One, and PC. Beyond some other assorted details--read our full Jedi Fallen Order news recap--we were still left with many questions, as there was no gameplay on display.]

The panel takes place today, Saturday, April 13; it starts at 1:30 PM local time in Chicago, where Star Wars Celebration is taking place; you can see a full list of start times around the globe below. Respawn boss Vince Zampella and game director Stig Asmussen are expected to appear on the panel and talk more about Jedi Fallen Order. Presumably we're getting a trailer, too. You can also probably look forward to t-shirts, given one went up for sale and leaked some Jedi Fallen Order art before the panel. With the panel going on, the game has been described as a "melee-action" game where you'll wield a lightsaber and Force powers.

Jedi Fallen Order Panel Start Time

  • 11:30 AM PT
  • 1:30 PM CT
  • 2:30 PM ET
  • 7:30 PM BST
  • 4:30 AM AEST (Sunday, April 14)

So far our most detailed look has come from a brief teaser on social media. That showed a glowing hilt of a broken lightsaber accompanied by the words "Don't stand out." It's possible this is a reference to a stealth mechanic, the story of a Jedi who has escaped the purge and gone into hiding, or both. Here is the official description for the Jedi Fallen Order panel:

"Join the head of Respawn Entertainment, Vince Zampella, and Game Director, Stig Asmussen, along with many special guests, to be the first to learn about this holiday's highly anticipated action adventure game, Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order. Hear how Respawn and Lucasfilm collaborated on this original Star Wars story, following a young Padawan's journey in the Dark Times following Order 66. And of course, we'll have a few surprises in store."

While Jedi Fallen Order is scheduled for release later this year, very little is known about it so far. That's set to change during Star Wars Celebration, and we'll have all the news here on GameSpot as it's announced.

What we do know is that Knights of the Old Republic II writer Chris Avellone worked on the script, while Asmussen, the game director, previously worked on the God of War franchise at Sony before moving to Respawn. In terms of the story and timeline, Jedi Fallen Order tells an original story that takes place "shortly after" the events of Episode II: Revenge of the Sith. Avellone recently said story is "very important" to Jedi Fallen Order.

For more on Jedi Fallen Order, check out GameSpot's story: "Everything We Want From Respawn's Star Wars: Jedi Fallen Order."

In other Star Wars news, the next entry in the film series has been confirmed as being called Star Wars Episode IX: The Rise of Skywalker. At the end of the panel for the film, a teaser trailer was shown, and it revealed that an iconic villain will be returning to the series.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 18 comments about this story