Walmart's Website Has Issues As People Frantically Order PS5

Walmart is offering the PS5 for online orders during select periods today, and the traffic appears to have crashed its entire website.

11 Comments

Walmart is offering PS5 consoles for order on its website with several time periods pre-selected to allow for customers to have a fair shot at getting the system--the next batch will be available at noon PT / 3 PM ET. Unfortunately, the high level of traffic these orders brought appears to have crashed its entire website.

As of right now, the website appears to have recovered, but some players interested in purchasing the console may have seen an error message describing technical difficulties. We saw this message when attempting to go to the Walmart homepage, though the problem quickly corrected itself.

That short few minutes is plenty of time for others to buy the remaining stock, however. The PS5 is particularly hard to come by, and Walmart's launch-day orders were one of the best ways to guarantee you received the system in time for Christmas this year.

Our condolences go out to anyone who was not able to secure an order. There will be several more restocking times when you can buy the console.

  • 12 PM PT / 3 PM ET
  • 3 PM PT / 6 PM ET
  • 6 PM PT / 9 PM ET

You can check out our PS5 order guide for more information on buying the system.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 11 comments about this story