GameSpot may receive revenue from affiliate and advertising partnerships for sharing this content and from purchases through links.

Transformers: Cyberton DLC unfolds on PSN

PlayStation Store Update: $10 add-on for Activision's shooter touches down; Piyotama puzzles PSP; four PlayStation classics hit PSN; PlayStation Plus gets free Critter Crunch, Syphon Filter, and Kahoots.


No Caption Provided It's a busy week on the PlayStation Network, as Sony ushers in the first downloadable content pack for Transformers: War for Cybertron, four original PlayStation titles, and three free games for PlayStation Plus subscribers.

Those looking to return to Cybertron this week with something fresh can pick up the Transformers: War for Cybertron: Map and Character Pack ($9.99). The content packs in four new multiplayer environments and five new characters. The four new maps are Havoc and Fortress for standard multiplayer, and District and Forsaken for the title's Escalation mode. Additionally, preorder bonus characters Shockwave, Demolishor, and Jazz are thrown into the mix with the DLC, alongside new characters Scattershot and Onslaught.

Switching to the nostalgic front, Sony ends its dry spell this week by welcoming a quartet of PlayStation classics to the download hub today. They include A Bug's Life ($5.99), The Emperor's New Groove ($5.99), Hercules ($5.99), and Toy Story Racer ($5.99).

Cybertron freshens up with new DLC.
Cybertron freshens up with new DLC.

Sony's PlayStation Plus subscribers this week can download three titles of varying size and substance for free. They include the PlayStation One third-person shooter Syphon Filter, the colorful puzzle game Critter Crunch, and the PlayStation mini Kahoots.

The PSP store hatched one game this week. Piyotama ($9.99) is a color-matching puzzle game that tasks players with hatching all of Piyo's eggs before they overflow the nest. This is achieved by matching similarly hued eggs and watching the action commence. The title features two game modes: Free Range and Timed. And players who cluck up high scores can upload the achievement to the game's online leaderboards.

Two new demos from wholly distinct genres came to the PSN this week. The first is a trial for Madden NFL 11. The demo lets players get a feel for the game's new threefold mentality: simpler, quicker, deeper. Those who download the demo for EA's latest annualized football simulator can also hear the game's new announcer, Gus Johnson.

Plastic-instrument-wielding living room rockers seeking new tunes to jam to this week can download fresh content for both Rock Band and Guitar Hero. Rock Band welcomes a six-pack from Spanish musicians Juanes, and Guitar Hero adds a triple shot of the biblically named Avenged Sevenfold.

A full list of the week's deals and new PlayStation Store content, including themes, wallpapers, demos, discounts, and add-on content, is available on the PlayStation Blog.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are 11 comments about this story