This Is When Fortnite's 5.40 Content Update Drops

Fortnite's next content update arrives early on September 11.

1 Comments

Season 5 of Fortnite is drawing to a close very soon, but before this season officially wraps up, developer Epic has some new content in store for the popular battle royale game. The studio announced on Twitter that it will roll out Fortnite's 5.40 content update across all platforms tomorrow, September 11, at 5 AM PT / 8 AM ET / 1 PM BST, and it looks set to introduce another new gun to the game. [Update] Epic has completed a client update for Fortnite, and the full patch details are expected later today.

Epic hasn't formally confirmed what new item will arrive as part of the 5.40 content update, but it will presumably be the Suppressed Assault Rifle, which Fortnite's in-game News feed teases is "coming soon" to the game. According to its accompanying description, the new gun is a "silenced weapon that rewards precision aiming."

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Fortnite Content Update 5.40 Adds Suppressed Assault Rifle, Removes Drum Gun - GS News Update

Before the 5.40 content update goes live, Epic will deploy a separate client update for Fortnite that addresses a handful of unspecified issues. Downtime for that patch is scheduled to begin tonight, September 10, at 11 PM PT (2 AM ET / 7 AM BST on September 11). Epic hasn't provided an estimate for how long the downtime is expected to last.

Fortnite's 5.40 patch arrived last week after a slight delay and kicked off High Stakes, a special heist-themed event that encompasses its own set of challenges and the new Getaway limited-time mode. The patch also introduced a new mobility item to the game called the Grappler, which can be fired at a distant object to pull you toward it.

Barring any unforeseen delays, Week 10's challenges are scheduled to arrive this Thursday, September 13. That will mark the last batch of weekly challenges for Season 5, which means you only have a little more time left to complete any previous weeks' tasks. If you still need help finishing any outstanding missions, you can find guides for all of them in our complete Fortnite Season 5 challenge roundup.

GameSpot may get a commission from retail offers.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 1 comments about this story