These Games Are Now in the Video Game Hall of Fame

Pong, Pac-Man, Tetris, Super Mario Bros., Doom, and World of Warcraft make up the first wave of inductees.


The first inductees for the "World Video Game Hall of Game" have been revealed. No surprises here, as classics like Pong and Pac-Man made the cut, along with the relatively recent World of Warcraft.

No Caption Provided

The full list of first wave inductees from The Strong Museum's Hall of Fame is below.

These six games were pulled from a pool of 15 finalists. Games that were passed over include Angry Birds, FIFA, The Legend of Zelda, Minecraft, The Oregon Trail, Pokemon, The Sims, Sonic the Hedgehog, and Space Invaders. These games still have a shot at induction to the Hall of Fame, as nominations for the class of 2016 will be accepted through March 31, 2016, with voting to follow sometime later.

Inductees for the World Video Game Hall of Fame include games that "have enjoyed popularity over a sustained period and have exerted influence on the video game industry or on popular culture and society in general." A panel of journalists and scholars ultimately decide which games make the cut.

The six newly minted Hall of Famers have been put on permanent display at The Strong's eGameRevolution exhibit. For more on The Strong Museum, head to its website.

Do you agree with The Strong's Hall of Fame inductees? Let us know in the comments below.

Back in February, GameSpot editors revealed their own picks for games that should be included in the Hall of Fame.

The products discussed here were independently chosen by our editors. GameSpot may get a share of the revenue if you buy anything featured on our site.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are 139 comments about this story