These Games Are Nominated for Outstanding Achievement in Writing

What do you make of the selections?


The Writers Guild of America today announced the finalists for "Outstanding Achievement in Video Game Writing" for games released in 2016. The nominees include Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare, Far Cry Primal, Uncharted 4: A Thief's End, and Mr. Robot 1.51exfiltratiOn.ipa.

Far Cry Primal
Far Cry Primal

To be eligible, games had to be released between December 1, 2015 and November 30, 2016 and feature on-screen credits. Writers did not need to be part of the Writers Guild of America to be considered. The games were judged by a panel that included people who are "active in video game writing," though a specific list of panelists was not provided.

The winners will be announced at the 2017 Writers Guild Awards on Sunday, February 19. There will be concurrent events in Los Angeles and New York City.

Last year, Rise of the Tomb Raider took home the award, beating out The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt, Assassin's Creed Syndicate, and Pillars of Eternity for the honor.

The 2017 Writers Guild Awards will also honor movies and TV shows--the nominees were already announced and can be seen here. Patton Oswalt will host the show.

The 2016 nominees for Outstanding Achievement in Video Game Writing are:

  • Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare -- Written by Brian Bloom.
  • Far Cry Primal -- Story by Jean-Sebastien Decant, Ian C. Ryan, Kevin Shortt; Lead Writers Ian C. Ryan, Kevin Shortt; Writers Lynne Kamm, Susan Patrick.
  • Mr. Robot 1.51exfiltratiOn.ipa -- Story by Adam Hines, Kor Adana; Written by Adam Hines.
  • Uncharted 4: A Thief's End -- Written by Neil Druckmann, Josh Scherr; Additional Writing Tom Bissell, Ryan James.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are 58 comments about this story