The New Funko-Themed Gears Pop Game Is Off To A Strong Start

There are a lot of people hunting the Locust on-the-go with Gears Pop.

3 Comments
Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Gears Pop Gameplay Trailer | Microsoft Press Conference E3 2019

GameSpot may get a commission from retail offers.

After launching on Android, iOS, and Windows 10 PC for free a week ago, the cutesy Gears Pop has hit an impressive milestone, surpassing more than one million players in the short time it has been available on the market.

The Coalition's studio head, Rod Fergusson, tweeted out a thank you for the one million players. Though he didn't clarify, Fergusson alludes to "more cool stuff" coming in the future for the mobile Gears spin-off title.

Announced during Microsoft's E3 2018 presentation, Gears Pop is described as a "mobile Gears experience with an official Funko Pop twist." In it, you build your team from an assortment of Pop Vinyl-styled Gears characters, challenge players around the world, defend against the Horde in co-op, and more. The game's full achievement list has been revealed, allowing you to earn upwards of 1000 Gamerscore if you log into your Xbox Live account through your phone.

Gears Pop arrived just a couple of weeks before the upcoming mainline Gears entry, Gears 5, which will launch on September 10 for PC and Xbox One. You can pre-load the game right now on both platforms, with serves expected to go live on September 5 at 9 PM / 11 PM CST / 12 AM ET / 5 AM BST.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 3 comments about this story