GameSpot may receive revenue from affiliate and advertising partnerships for sharing this content and from purchases through links.

The MCU's First 22 Movies Are Now Called The Infinity Saga

The Infinity Saga will end with Avengers: Endgame.


With the end of Phase 3 of the Marvel Cinematic Universe on the horizon, Marvel Studios come up with a very fitting name for the group of films that stretch from Iron Man to Avengers: Endgame. The new moniker is also another sign that there are some big changes coming to the film series shortly.

As revealed in Empire Magazine (via IGN), the first 22 films in the MCU will become known as The Infinity Saga. Explaining the decision, Marvel Studios president Kevin Feige said, "We wanted to bring to a conclusion a series of movies in a way that had never been done before. Harry Potter had an ending because there were only so many books. Lord of the Rings too. But we thought, 22 movies in, wouldn't it be fun to bring some finality to the storyline."

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Avengers Endgame Trailer 2 Breakdown - What We Learned About The New Marvel Movie

The word finality is a scary one where this particular saga is concerned. After Thanos (Josh Brolin) snapped half of the universe out of existence in Avengers: Infinity War, it seemed only logical that by the time Endgame's credits rolled, some members of the MCU would be dead for good. At this point no, there's no telling who it is--though one major theory posits that it's Iron Man (Robert Downey Jr.) that will bite the dust once and for all.

Whatever happens in Endgame, though, it will be the end of the Infinity Saga. Whether that means it's the end of Infinity Stones in the MCU is a question that will be answered in time. Though we have some thoughts on what the future of the MCU will look like. Until then, get ready for Avengers: Endgame's April 26 release by checking out our latest trailer breakdown and deep dive into the character Kate Bishop and whether she'll appear in the movie.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are 2 comments about this story