GameSpot may receive revenue from affiliate and advertising partnerships for sharing this content and from purchases through links.

The Last Of Us Is One Of 12 Nominees For Gaming Hall Of Fame

Quake and Wii Sports are among the finalists.


The Strong National Museum of Play has announced the 12 finalists that have been chosen to enter the 2023 World Video Game Hall of Fame.

The finalists were revealed in a recent news post on The Strong National Museum of Play official website, where it was confirmed that titles that were released as early as 1971 through 2013 are included. Some of the most notable games that are being considered for the Video Game Hall of Fame range from id Software's 1996 FPS Quake to Wii Sports, which launched alongside the Nintendo Wii in 2006.

Other games featured in the lineup are considered by players to be some of the best of all time, such as GoldenEye 007 for the Nintendo 64, Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare, and the original 2013 version of The Last of Us. The 1996 hit Barbie Fashion Designer also managed to snag a spot. The full list of finalists can be read below.

The 12 finalists for the 2023 World Video Game Hall of Fame

  • Age of Empires
  • Angry Birds
  • Barbie Fashion Designer
  • Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
  • Computer Space
  • FIFA International Soccer
  • GoldenEye 007
  • The Last of Us
  • NBA 2K
  • Quake
  • Wii Sports
  • Wizardry

The Strong Museum is allowing the public to vote for their favorite finalist with the Player's Choice Ballet. The voting is open from March 15-22 and the three games that receive the most public votes will be submitted on one ballot and join the other top three submissions from members of the National Selection Advisory Committee.

The final round of inductees will be revealed on May 4. The winning game will join the likes of Super Mario Bros. and The Legend of Zelda in the World Video Game Hall of Fame.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are 3 comments about this story