The Game Awards: What Won't Be There

All the reveals take one step forward. Not so fast, Cyberpunk.

1 Comments
Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: The Game Awards 2018 Live


Related
The Last of Us Part II
Follow
Cyberpunk 2077
Follow

The Game Awards show is imminent, and we've already seen developers teasing big announcements for the event. The show will boast ten new game announcements along with updates on current games, alongside the awards. But while some companies like Obsidian are eager to tease that they'll be showing new wares, others have taken the opportunity to set expectations by stating they definitely won't.

Rocksteady has announced it won't be showing its next game at the show, and also took a moment to dispel some persistent rumors about what that next game actually is. Game director Sefton Hill wrote that the team is looking forward to the show, but they're "still hard at work in [their] development bunker." He ended the statement by flatly stating, "Spoiler: it's not Superman." That marks the first time the studio has openly addressed the rumors that it is working on a Superman game to follow its acclaimed Batman: Arkham series.

CD Projekt Red, by comparison, has already announced its next game: Cyberpunk 2077. However, to stave off expectations that we'd get a fresh look at the award show, community lead Marcin Momot said on Twitter that it won't be sharing any new details.

Similarly, Naughty Dog has stepped forward to state that The Last of Us 2 won't be appearing at The Game Awards either. This one seemed the most likely of any, because we already know the game is relatively close. Given that Sony bowed out of a PlayStation Experience event this year, the Game Awards seemed like the next most likely venue for another look at the anticipated sequel.

We do know that we'll see Obsidian's next game, a Far Cry announcement, and an update for Fortnite at the show. The Game Awards starts at 8:30 PM ET / 5:30 PM PT / 1:30 AM GMT (Friday) / 12:30 PM AET (Friday). You can watch live right here on GameSpot. In the meantime, check out the full list of nominees.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 1 comments about this story