GameSpot may receive revenue from affiliate and advertising partnerships for sharing this content and from purchases through links.

The Future Of Destiny 2 Retires Its Seasons For Something Totally New And Different

Destiny 2's new Episodes are an ambitious attempt to shake up the game with standalone adventures.


One of the big changes coming to Destiny 2 after The Final Shape will be Episodes, a big shake-up to the post-launch content of the game. While Destiny 2 has used a seasonal structure for several years now, usually four over a one-year period, Episodes will be three larger slices of content that add new rewards over several weeks.

Destiny 2's first set of Episodes
Destiny 2's first set of Episodes

Echoes, Revenant, and Heresy are the first Episodes arriving after The Final Shape launches and deal with the fallout of that expansion. Each episode has been designed to be a standalone experience that can be played in any order regardless of your experience with Destiny 2, and Bungie says these will provide the foundation for the future of the game.

Episodes will provide new ways to engage with Destiny 2, creating innovative experiences that help define the next stage of Destiny 2's evolution. Each Episode will be split into three Acts--with a new Act releasing every six weeks--and contain new stories, quests, activities, weapons, artifact mods, pass ranks, and other rewards.

Bungie said Episodes are meant in part to address complaints about seasons feeling too formulaic. Seasons pass will continue to be available, with 100 ranks available with the first act of each episode, and 50 more being added for Act 2 and 3. New acts will also introduce an expansion to each Episode's artifact.

Some Episodes will be more standalone stories, and Bungie says it'll be experimenting with different approaches to storytelling going forward even beyond the year following The Final Shape.

Destiny 2: The Final Shape will officially bring an end to a story that has been 10 years in the making, and launches on February 27, 2024 for PC, PS5, PS4, Xbox Series X|S, and Xbox One. This new expansion will take Guardians into the Pale Heart of the Traveler for a showdown with the Witness, and preordering the game will instantly unlock the Tessellation Exotic fusion rifle.

Darryn Bonthuys on Google+

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are no comments about this story