Street Fighter tribute album planned

Capcom assembles game-music composers for series' 15th-anniversary CD.


TOKYO--Capcom has announced that it will release a compilation CD of soundtrack music to celebrate the Street Fighter series' 15th anniversary. Creatively titled Street Fighter Tribute Album, the disc will feature Street Fighter II series theme songs reorchestrated by 12 game-music composers.

Artists include well-known figures such as Yasunori Mitsuda of Xenogears and Youko Shimomura of Kingdom Hearts, who was one of the original Street Fighter II composers before moving on to work under Square Enix. The full list of composers is as follows:

  • Ayako Sasou (Ridge Racer series, Final Fantasy Tactics Advance)
  • Hiroaki Yoshida (Fighter's History, Chernov)
  • Kouji Hayama (Chou Aniki series)
  • Manami Matsumae (Mega Man, Derby Stallion)
  • Motoaki Furukawa (Gladius series, Guitar Freaks series)
  • Shinji Hosoe (Dragon Spirit, Ridge Racer series)
  • Takayuki Aihira (Tekken 2, Street Fighter EX series)
  • Takenobu Mitsuyoshi (Daytona USA series, Virtua Fighter series)
  • Yasuhisa Watanabe (Border Down, Metal Black)
  • Yasunori Mitsuda (Xenosaga, Chrono Cross)
  • Youko Shimomura (Street Fighter II, Kingdom Hearts)
  • Yuzou Koshiro (Y's, Sonic the Hedgehog)
The CD is scheduled for release in Japan on December 17, at the retail price of 3,150 yen ($29).

GameSpot may get a commission from retail offers.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are no comments about this story