Star Wars: Battlefront Has 12 Multiplayer Maps at Launch

Endor, Hoth, and Sullust are the first three confirmed maps.


The Star Wars Day announcements keep coming. Developer DICE on Monday revealed that Star Wars: Battlefront, the upcoming first- and third-person shooter based on the original trilogy, will include a total of twelve multiplayer maps upon release in November.

DICE announced the number in a post on the EA Star Wars website. The developer points out that this does not include locations from the game's co-op "Missions" mode, which is separate from Battlefront's main multiplayer offering. You can also bet that more will be added as DLC later on.

No Caption Provided

A full list of maps for Battlefront has not been announced yet, but DICE mentioned three. These include familiar places like Endor and Hoth, as well as Sullust (above), a new environment referenced in the Star Wars fiction but never fully explored. Some of the maps will support the 40-player Walker Assault mode, while others have been purposefully designed for close-quarters combat.

Developers from DICE traveled to Iceland to capture reference photos for Sullust, a volcanic location that lead environment artist Andrew Hamilton describes as being "very barren in a beautiful way." For a closer look at Sullust and DICE's trip to Iceland, check out the images in the gallery below.

Battlefront launches November 17 for Xbox One, PlayStation 4, and PC. DICE is also offering a free DLC pack based on The Force Awakens called The Battle of Jakku. This arrives December 1 for people who pre-order and December 8 for everyone else.

More Star Wars Day stories are below.

No Caption Provided

The products discussed here were independently chosen by our editors. GameSpot may get a share of the revenue if you buy anything featured on our site.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are 460 comments about this story