Star Wars Battlefront "Blast" Multiplayer Mode Revealed

10 vs. 10 mode is Battlefront's version of team deathmatch.


As promised, DICE on Thursday announced a new multiplayer mode for Star Wars: Battlefront.

The new mode is called "Blast," and it's Battlefront's version of the tried-and-true team deathmatch. Teams of Rebel and Imperial factions (ten to a side) square off in matches that run until one team notches 100 kills or ten minutes elapses.

No Caption Provided

Some of the planets you'll fight on include Endor, Hoth, Tatooine, and Sullust. Blast is a close-quarters mode, so maps won't be as large as what you'll find in the game's other modes, such as the massive-scale, 40-player Walker assault mode. But Blast isn't just a trimmed down version of bigger modes.

"Say you've just played Walker Assault mode on Hoth and then switched to Blast, still on Hoth--thanks to variations in lighting and time of day, you'll definitely see a difference," lead level designer Dennis Brännvall said in a post on the Battlefront website.

Some other notable Blast mode facts include:

  • No vehicles
  • No hero and villain characters
  • Weapons are scattered throughout the map

DICE recently teased a "unique" Battlefront mode, but it's unclear if Blast is what the developer was referring to. As multiplayer modes go, Blast sounds pretty straightforward.

Gamescom attendees will get to play Blast at the Electronic Arts booth at Gamescom next week in Germany.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Battlefront's other multiplayer game modes include:

  • Walker Assault
  • Supremacy
  • Fighter Squadron
  • Drop Zone
  • Cargo

In addition to these, Battlefront has a Missions mode, playable offline or through local or online co-op. There is also the Survival mode that we saw at E3 (see the video above).

Battlefront launches on November 17 for Xbox One, PlayStation 4, and PC, just a few weeks before J.J. Abrams' Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awkens hits theaters. Everyone who buys Battlefront will receive a free expansion called The Battle of Jakku, which is based on the upcoming movie.

In other recent news about Battlefront, EA has told fans not to worry about the game being delayed.

GameSpot may get a commission from retail offers.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are 39 comments about this story