Star Wars: Battlefront 2 Open Beta Begins For Everyone On PS4, Xbox One, And PC

The open beta is officially underway.

40 Comments

EA has expanded Star Wars: Battlefront II's ongoing beta to include all players on PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC. Following a two-day early access period for those who pre-ordered the upcoming shooter, everyone can now give it a try for themselves.

Four different modes are available to try out in the beta: Galactic Assault, Starfighter Assault, Strike, and Arcade. The latter is an offline, 1-2 player mode with split-screen support, while the others are online multiplayer modes ranging up to a maximum player count of 40. You can check out our previous coverage for more details on exactly what's in the Battlefront II beta.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Star Wars Battlefront 2 Open Beta Has Arrived

Barring any extensions, the beta runs from now until October 9 at 9 AM PT / 12 PM ET / 5 PM BST (3 AM AEDT on October 10). Those playing the PC version can check out our previous story for the Battlefront II beta minimum and recommended specs. Keep in mind these could be adjusted for the official launch, though dramatic changes seem unlikely. You can grab the beta through the links below; note that all Xbox One owners can participate because Xbox Live multiplayer is free right now.

Star Wars Battlefront II releases in full on November 17. We recently got a look at some of Battlefront II's new modes and features, including the Galactic Assault and Starfighter Assault modes featured in the beta; you can see what we think of them in the video above. If you don't have beta access just yet, you can get your Star Wars fix with the original Battlefront II from 2005, which recently restored its online multiplayer support.

GameSpot may get a commission from retail offers.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 40 comments about this story