Square Enix's New "Action Game Brand" Will Reveal First Game Tomorrow

Balan Company will show off its first game tomorrow, possibly during Xbox's July 23 Games Showcase.

5 Comments

Update: Square Enix's newly established action-game brand, Balan Company, will debut its first title tomorrow (Thursday, July 23) at 10 AM PT / 1 PM ET. There's no confirmation on what the game is and while there's no direct connection to Xbox's upcoming Games Showcase Event, it's possible that Balan Company's reveal may occur during the livestream, which starts at 9 AM PT / 12 PM ET.

Original Story: Japanese video game giant Square Enix has established a brand-new studio of sorts that brings internal and external action game developers together under one umbrella.

That conglomerate is called Balan Company, an "action game brand" that will unveil its first project in the future--though when remains unclear. The group's official website simply features a red curtain with a white top hat sitting on a stage. The text reads: "Ladies and gentlemen, welcome to the show of wonders brought to you by the Balan Company. We thank you for your patience while we make preparation for the grand opening." Whatever is coming sounds like it may be extremely theatrical.

Square Enix has not publicly clarified what Balan Company is, but the studio did share a teaser for the group on its official Twitter account.

In other Square Enix news, the studio has announced that the beta for Marvel's Avengers will kick-off this August. Those who pre-ordered the game on PlayStation 4 can access the beta starting on August 7. Xbox One players who pre-ordered Marvel's Avengers will get into the beta on August 14. Conversely, everyone else will be able to participate in the game's open beta on August 21 before it launches on September 7.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 5 comments about this story