SoulCalibur 6 PS4 And Xbox One Beta Now Live

Try the upcoming fighting game out ahead of its release.

4 Comments

The latest entry in Bandai Namco's acclaimed fighting series, SoulCalibur VI, is less than a month away, and some PS4 and Xbox One players will soon have a chance to try it out ahead of its release. The publisher is hosting a Network Test for the upcoming fighting game this weekend, and it's available to download now. [Update: The SoulCalibur VI Network Test is now underway on PS4 and Xbox One.]

The Network Test formally kicks off on both platforms on Friday, September 28, at 8 AM PT / 11 AM ET / 4 PM BST, but in the meantime, players can download the test client from each console's respective storefront. PS4 owners are able to grab the beta client here, while Xbox One players can download it from here. Those planning on playing on Microsoft's console will need to have an Xbox Live Gold subscription in order to participate, while the PS4 test will be open to everyone, whether they have a PSN membership or not.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: SoulCalibur 6 Beta For PS4 And Xbox One Starts Tomorrow - GS News Update

During the Network Test, players will be able to play Ranked Matches. A number of characters will be available to choose from during the beta, including The Witcher's Geralt--who is featured on SoulCalibur VI's box art--and some returning fighters such as Mitsurugi and Nightmare, among others. You can find the full roster of playable characters and breakdowns of each one's movesets on Bandai Namco's website.

The Network Test runs on each platform until 8 PM PT / 11 PM ET on Sunday, September 30 (4 AM BST on October 1). The beta is slated to run throughout the entire weekend, but Bandai Namco warns that "servers may be unavailable at times." More details about the Network Test are available here.

SoulCalibur VI launches for PS4, Xbox One, and PC on October 19. The game features two story modes: Chronicle of Souls and Libra of Souls, the latter of which allows you to play through a single-player campaign as your own custom character. Tira, a veteran fighter first introduced in SoulCalibur III, will be available as day-one DLC.

GameSpot may get a commission from retail offers.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 4 comments about this story