SoulCalibur 6 Ends Its Season 2 DLC With The Return Of Hwang

After 15 years, the Korean swordsman is finally back in action.


SoulCalibur VI is closing out its Season Pass 2 DLC with the return of fan-favorite Korean swordsman Hwang Seong-gyeong. Much like the August reveal of Setsuka, Hwang has also been missing in action for some time.

Originally appearing in 1995's Soul Edge, Hwang also appeared in SoulCalibur and SoulCalibur 3, and was then relegated to the sidelines for 15 years.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: SOULCALIBUR VI – Hwang DLC Launch Trailer

Armed with his trademark Dark Thunder longsword and Six Heavenly Arts fighting style, Hwang will arrive on December 2 on PS4, PS5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X/S, and PC via Steam alongside a new update that adds the Motien Pass Ruins stage, classic costume parts for Seong Mi-Na, new Tekken-themed parts, and new Mitsurugi and Nightmare episodes.

"For those looking to get in a few games with friends it's welcoming and immediately enjoyable," critic Tamoor Hussain wrote in his SoulCalibur VI review. "Those committed to ploughing the depths of its systems to get tournament ready, it has plenty to unpack and understand. Better still, those that want to play alone will find SoulCalibur VI has some of the most substantial single-player content in any fighting game today."

SoulCalibur VI is currently available on Xbox Game Pass, although if you're looking to score a discount on more games keep your eyes on our Cyber Monday page for deals.

GameSpot may get a commission from retail offers.

The products discussed here were independently chosen by our editors. GameSpot may get a share of the revenue if you buy anything featured on our site.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are 3 comments about this story