Sony State Of Play Dated; Won't Have PS5 News, But Will Have New Game Reveal

More PS4 game news is on the way this week.

12 Comments
Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: New PS4 Game Reveal Coming During State Of Play - GS News Update

Sony has announced that its next State of Play event is coming this week. The livestream is scheduled to begin on Thursday, May 9 at 3 PM PT / 6 PM ET / 11 PM BST (8 AM AEST on May 10). The show will last around 10 minutes and feature a new look at the PS4 MediEvil remake, as well as a brand new game. [Update: The event is over, and the big news involved Final Fantasy VII's remake (which got a new trailer) and Monster Hunter World (which got new details about its Iceborne expansion). We've got a full roundup of all the State of Play news to get you caught up.]

In a post on the PlayStation Blog, social media director Sid Shuman also said that Sony will "have other updates and announcements from upcoming PS4 games." For those wondering whether there will be any more details about PS5, he said, "Don’t expect any updates relating to our next-generation plans this time. Sorry."

No Caption Provided

State of Play will be streamed on Twitch, YouTube, Twitter, and Facebook. Of course, GameSpot will also carry the stream and report all the news as it happens.

PlayStation's State of Play is very much modeled on the Nintendo Direct format, though they have generally been much shorter thus far. The first one happened in March and revealed that an Iron Man PlayStation VR game is in the work. We also got a look at a number of other upcoming PS4 titles. You can catch up on everything that happened in March's State of Play here.

While Sony isn't ready to talk about PS5 in the State of Play, a few details have officially been revealed. These include its specs, confirmation of backwards compatibility, and assurance that PS VR will be supported in the next-generation PlayStation. You can read about everything we know about PS5 here.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 12 comments about this story