Sony announces SingStar Anthems for Europe

Next version of the SingStar karaoke series to feature anthem-style tracklisting, including Queen, Cher, and Gloria Gaynor.


SingStar Anthems

Sony Computer Entertainment Europe has announced that the next version of its karaoke series will be called SingStar Anthems. The game will be released on the PlayStation 2, and is set to arrive in Europe on August 4, 2006. The sixth game in the series will feature 20 new tracks that will be a mix of "classic tunes and diva anthems" from artists such as Donna Summer right through to the Scissor Sisters.

While a new SingStar disc is always cause for celebration among karaoke fans, the number of music tracks in SingStar Anthems is down from the usual 30 to 20. Our main criticism of SingStar Rocks! was its lack of new features, and with Sony now dropping the number of tracks in Anthems, it seems like the big improvements could be held off for the PlayStation 3 version of the game.

SingStar Anthems is going to be available in the UK for £39.99 ($74) along with two microphones and a USB adapter, or £19.99 ($37) for the stand-alone game. The full tracklist is included below, and we'll keep you posted as soon as we receive more details on the game's features.

SingStar Anthems tracklist:
- Queen: Radio Ga Ga
- Bonnie Tyler: Total Eclipse of the Heart
- Take That feat. Lulu: Relight My Fire
- Cher: If I Could Turn Back Time
- Steps: Deeper Shade of Blue
- Dead or Alive: You Spin Me Round (Like A Record)
- Candi Station: Young Hearts Run Free
- Gloria Gaynor: I Will Survive
- Bananarama: I Heard a Rumour
- Pussycat Dolls: Don't Cha
- LeAnn Rimes: Can't Fight the Moonlight
- Donna Summer: I Feel Love
- Bucks Fizz: Making Your Mind Up
- The Weather Girls: It's Raining Men
- Ultra Nate: Free
- Scissor Sisters: Laura
- Kim Wilde: Kids in America
- Whitney Houston: I Wanna Dance with Somebody
- Girls Aloud: Biology
- Charlotte Church: Crazy Chick

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

  •   View Comments (0)
    Join the conversation
    There are no comments about this story