Sonic The Hedgehog 30th Anniversary Stream: How To Watch And Start Time

Sonic's 30th anniversary is nearly here, and Sega is looking to celebrate with a stream featuring a first look at new projects and partnerships.

1 Comments

Sega is celebrating three decades of Sonic the Hedgehog with a special 30th anniversary stream dedicated to the blue blur today, May 27, and it looks like fans can expect some big news as we honor the legendary gaming mascot.

Update: The stream is now over, but you can rewatch it below. There was quite a bit of news packed into what was a relatively short show, including the reveal of Sonic Colors: Ultimate and confirmation of a new Sonic Team game coming in 2022.

Sonic 30th Anniversary Stream Start Time

The stream will begin at 9 AM PT / noon ET. Sega says to tune in "for a first look at some of our upcoming projects, partnerships, and events to celebrate Sonic's 30th anniversary." What all that will entail remains to be seen, but it certainly seems like a new game(s) announcement is on the horizon. It's unusual to go more than a year or so without a Sonic project of some kind, whether it's a new platforming game, a racer, or some other spin-off.

Here's the breakdown of stream start times:

  • 9 AM PT
  • 10 AM MT
  • 11 AM CT
  • 12 PM ET
  • 5 PM BST

How To Watch Sonic 30th Anniversary Stream

Fans can watch via the official Sonic YouTube or Twitch channels. The Twitch page is embedded above so you can stay right here and catch all the news.

A new Sonic 3D animated TV show, Sonic Prime, is coming to Netflix in 2022, from some of the creators behind Mega Man: Fully Charged and the Big Hero 6 show. Earlier this month footage of a thought to be long-lost Sonic title, Sonic Kart 3DX, surfaced online. The game was thought to be largely lost to time, as it was included as part of Sega's mobile phone game service in Japan, Sonic's Cafe, which shut down more than a decade ago.

Sonic the Hedgehog 2, a sequel to 2020's live-action Sonic film, is also in the works. The film's plot, which looks to include both Knuckles and Tails, leaked via a copyright listing on a government website and points towards the Chaos Emeralds making their big screen debut when the movie arrives in April 2022. The previous film's final moments strongly hinted at a sequel, as well.

GameSpot may get a commission from retail offers.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 1 comments about this story