Sonic Frontiers Release Date Confirmed For November 2022 In New Trailer

A new trailer for the next big Sonic game has been revealed.


Sonic Frontiers, the next entry in Sega's popular blue blur series, will be released on November 8, 2022. This was confirmed during Gamescom Opening Night Live today through a new trailer.

Sega also released a new story synopsis for Sonic Frontiers, which explains that Sonic finds himself on an island filled with "unusual creatures." You can see the new trailer and story description below.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Sonic Frontiers Trailer | Gamescom ONL 2022

Sonic Frontiers story synopsis:

"A mysterious stranger, a wondrous new land. In search of the missing Chaos Emeralds, Sonic becomes stranded on an island teeming with unusual creatures. Wield the power of the ancients as you battle hordes of powerful enemies on your path to uncovering the mysteries hidden across the Starfall Islands. Join Sonic and save the inhabitants from this colossal, mechanized threat!"

Sonic Frontiers takes the series into more open-ended environments, sporting a level of realism--at least for the terrain--that we haven't seen in the series before. It still contains classic Sonic franchise elements, including the hedgehog's classic moves, as well as more over-the-top obstacles and separate areas that bear more resemblance to past Sonic games.

The game will be released on PS5, PS4, Xbox Series X|S, Xbox One, Nintendo Switch, and PC. In other news, the Sonic the Hedgehog 3 movie was recently confirmed to arrive in late 2024.

The products discussed here were independently chosen by our editors. GameSpot may get a share of the revenue if you buy anything featured on our site.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are 2 comments about this story