Sega Genesis Classics Collection Announced For PS4 And Xbox One, But Not Nintendo Switch

More than 50 games will be re-released, Sega has confirmed.


Sega has confirmed it will be releasing its Sega Genesis Classics Collection for PS4 and Xbox One this spring. It'll include more than 50 games from the company's iconic 16-bit system Genesis (or Mega Drive, for those outside North America). Fans can expect Sonic the Hedgehog and Sonic the Hedgehog 2, Shining Force, Virtua Fighter 2, and several games in the Phantasy Star and Streets of Rage series. Check out some of the games coming in the trailer below.

The collection looks to be similar to the existing Sega Genesis Classics Collection currently available for PC on Steam. The collection's new website also has a logo for Steam, so it seems PC players are also in line for the new compilation, although it's still unconfirmed. Nintendo Switch players, however, won't be receiving their copy of the Collection. That system is notably left off the announcement, even though Sega has recently released other classically inspired titles on the Switch like Sonic Forces.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: GS News Update: Sega Genesis Classics Collection Coming To PS4 And Xbox One, But Not To Nintendo Switch

The Collection will also include some enhanced features, of course, like Rewind and a host of visual filters to keep the games looking authentic. There will be full multiplayer capabilities and Trophies/Achievements, and a special Mirror Mode that allows you play the game with the screen flipped horizontally for extra challenge.

The game's announcement came after the website Seganerds posted a trailer and screenshots from the collection, saying Sega posted them on its website last week. Sega told Game Informer a mistake had been made, and the media was posted before the collection was actually supposed to be announced. Sega Genesis Classics Collection will release for PS4 and Xbox One on May 29, and you can get a fill list of the games it includes below.

  • Alex Kidd in the Enchanted Castle
  • Alien Soldier
  • Alien Storm
  • Altered Beast
  • Beyond Oasis
  • Bio-Hazard Battle
  • Bonanza Bros.
  • Columns
  • Columns III: Revenge of Columns
  • Comix Zone
  • Crack Down
  • Decap Attack
  • Dr. Robotnik’s Mean Bean Machine
  • Dynamite Headdy
  • ESWAT: City Under Siege
  • Fatal Labyrinth
  • Flicky
  • Gain Ground
  • Galaxy Force II
  • Golden Axe
  • Golden Axe II
  • Golden Axe III
  • Gunstar Heroes
  • Kid Chameleon
  • Landstalker
  • Light Crusader
  • Phantasy Star II
  • Phantasy Star III: Generations of Doom
  • Phantasy Star IV: The End of the Millenium
  • Ristar
  • Shadow Dancer: The Secret of Shinobi
  • Shining Force
  • Shining Force II
  • Shining in the Darkness
  • Shinobi III: Return of the Ninja Master
  • Sonic 3D Blast
  • Sonic Spinball
  • Sonic the Hedgehog
  • Sonic the Hedgehog 2
  • Space Harrier II
  • Streets of Rage
  • Streets of Rage 2
  • Streets of Rage 3
  • Super Thunder Blade
  • Sword of Vermilion
  • The Revenge of Shinobi
  • ToeJam & Earl in Panic on Funkotron
  • ToeJam& Earl
  • Vectorman
  • VectorMan 2
  • Virtua Fighter 2
  • Wonder Boy III: Monster Lair
  • Wonder Boy in Monster World

The products discussed here were independently chosen by our editors. GameSpot may get a share of the revenue if you buy anything featured on our site.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are 75 comments about this story