Season 5 Fortnite Teases Continue With Mysterious New Siren

Players can now hear a mysterious warning siren in a certain part of the map.

1 Comments
Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Fortnite Season 4 Week 9 Challenges Live

With the end of Season 4 of Fortnite: Battle Royale in sight, Epic has begun laying the groundwork for the game's next season. The developer confirmed that Season 5 will kick off on July 12, and it's started to drop more cryptic hints that some big changes are in store for the game.

Following the arrival of Fortnite's recent 4.5 update, players have begun noticing an ominous sound wailing in the distance in a certain area of the game's map. Specifically, a siren can now be heard near the Evil Lair in Snobby Shores. Twitch streamer OpTic CouRage shared a clip of the sound on Twitter (via Comicbook.com), which you can see for yourself below:

This is only the latest hint that something big is in store for Season 5 of Fortnite. Earlier this month, a mysterious countdown clock suddenly appeared on screens across the map. Fans speculate that the countdown clock and siren may signal the impending launch of a missile, although Epic hasn't publicly acknowledged either yet.

This wouldn't be the first time the developer dropped teases in the lead-up to a new season, however. In the weeks before Season 4, players began to notice a large comet looming in the stratosphere over Fortnite's map. As the season approached, more comets would appear in the sky. The large comet would eventually collide with the map to start Season 4, and it made some significant changes to the landscape, such as turning Dusty Depot into Dusty Divot.

Whether or not any of this turns out to be true will be seen in a few short weeks. Season 5 of Fortnite begins on July 12 at 1 AM PDT / 4 AM EDT / 9 AM BST / 6 PM AET. In the meantime, Epic will offer double XP for Battle Royale matches this weekend, from June 29 to July 2, to help players unlock their remaining Battle Pass rewards. If you need further help, be sure to check out our complete Season 4 challenge guide.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 1 comments about this story