Sea Of Thieves Servers Going Down For Maintenance Tomorrow

Players will be stranded for a few hours on March 24.

35 Comments
Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Sea Of Thieves Launch Livestream

GameSpot may get a commission from retail offers.

Microsoft's anticipated pirate adventure Sea of Thieves finally released for Xbox One and PC this week, although like many online multiplayer games when they just launch, its first few days have been beset by a number of technical issues. Developer Rare will perform server maintenance tomorrow, March 24, which will render the game unplayable for a period of time.

Maintenance begins at 2 AM PT / 5 AM ET / 9 AM GMT and is scheduled to run for approximately five hours, concluding at 7 AM PT / 10 AM ET / 2 PM GMT. During this period of time, Rare says the game's servers will be offline, so you won't be able to play Sea of Thieves at all, as it requires an internet connection even if you're adventuring solo.

This maintenance period shouldn't affect most players in the US given how early it will occur in the morning, but players in Europe will find themselves unable to play the game for quite a while. Another round of maintenance is also scheduled to follow early next week, on March 27. It will likewise begin at 2 AM PT / 5 AM ET / 9 AM GMT and run until 7 AM PT / 10 AM ET / 2 PM GMT.

Since its launch, many players have been experiencing a number of issues when trying to play Sea of Thieves, ranging from not being able to get online to not receiving gold after completing missions. Rare acknowledged these problems and outlined its plans to resolve them in a post on the game's official website.

Sea of Thieves is now available on Xbox One and PC. You can read our thoughts on the game so far in our Sea of Thieves review in progress. If you're just getting started, be sure to check out our guide of essential Sea of Thieves tips to help prepare you for life on the high seas, as well as our encounter with the dreaded Kraken.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 35 comments about this story