Resident Evil Village Final Demo Extended By A Week, Live Now

Resident Evil Village's controversial limited-access demos have rankled some fans, but the final one will be available for a full week on several platforms.

18 Comments

Capcom has announced that the final demo for Resident Evil Village will be available for a full week, and it's live now. Previously, a different demo was playable for PS4 and PS5 owners, but it was only available for 24 hours, which triggered an outcry and FOMO among fans. As a result, Capcom has extended the window for this final, multiplatform demo from one day to one week. However, the amount of time you can spend playing the demo is still capped at one hour.

Unlike the previous demos, this one is available on PS4, PS5, Xbox Series X|S, Xbox One, Stadia, and Steam. Players will have one hour in which they can explore either the Castle or Village environments. The demo runs from May 1 to May 9 in North America, though the actual times vary by territory, so check out the list below for details. Strangely, the announcement doesn't mention Asian territories, so it's unclear if the extended demo timeline applies there as well. Regardless, the demo will give you a little more time to practice pronouncing Lady Dimitrescu's name.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: 25 Years Of Resident Evil

How To Access Resident Evil Village Demos

Village And Castle Demo -- All Platforms (60 Minutes Total)

  • North America: 5 PM PDT / 8 PM EDT May 1 to 5 PM PDT / 8 PM EDT May 9
  • Europe: 0000 UTC / 0100 BST / 0200 CEST on May 2 to 0000 UTC / 0100 BST / 0200

Both Xbox and PC players can download the demo client before it's officially live, letting you play as soon as it's available. However, regardless of how early you start, you're subject to the same time limit.

If you're on PC, however, some players have figured out a clever way to reset the timer so you can keep playing in the demo area. You have to download and delete some files in order to make it work, but if you are really enjoying the demo, it's something to consider. Of course, you can also just wait a few days for the game to release.

New Resident Evil Village Trailer

The Resident Evil Showcase is where we first heard about the game's demos, but it also gave a bunch of other details about what we can expect from Resident Evil Village, including a new trailer, which you can watch above. This new look at the game gives a greater sense of the actual Village and the other characters who live there. Some of them seem to be looking to fight against the seemingly supernatural villains of the game, like extremely tall vampire Lady Dimitrescu and her brother. It also gives a little more of the impression that Ethan might be drawing special attention from the vampire folks at the center of the game--and raises more cryptic questions about Chris Redfield.

Capcom also announced a new element for Resident Evil Village during the stream--the return of The Mercenaries, the franchise's arcade shooter mode. It'll be included with the Village when it launches on May 7. The developer also revealed the release window for its upcoming Netflix animated series, Resident Evil: Infinite Darkness, teased a crossover event with Dead By Daylight, and announced a virtual reality version of Resident Evil 4 coming to Oculus Quest 2.

GameSpot may get a commission from retail offers.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 18 comments about this story