GameSpot may receive revenue from affiliate and advertising partnerships for sharing this content and from purchases through links.

Remnant 2: How To Unlock The Explorer Archetype

This archetype is designed for efficient, well, exploration.


While you can initially only choose one of five archetypes (classes) at the start of your adventure in Remnant II, you can unlock additional archetypes by playing the game and completing certain requirements. One of these is the Explorer, which capitalizes on increased movement speed and useful treasure-finding buffs to aid in things like efficient material farming. Here's how to unlock the Explorer archetype.

How to unlock the Explorer archetype in Remnant II

Unlocking the Explorer archetype requires you to beat the game one time. Upon defeating the game's final boss, you'll receive a Broken Compass. After the credits roll and you find yourself back in Ward 13, you'll need to talk to Wallace. He can be found at the docks at the same spot he was when he granted you your first archetype at the beginning of the game.

Use the Broken Compass, Lumenite Crystals, and a bit of Scrap to craft the Golden Compass.
Use the Broken Compass, Lumenite Crystals, and a bit of Scrap to craft the Golden Compass.

Speak with Wallace and exchange the Broken Compass for the Golden Compass. You can now equip this on your Archetype page in the menu to become an Explorer. With this new archetype, you'll be much more efficient at moving around and finding treasure, so make sure to equip it if you're farming for specific items. You can even get temporary damage bonuses from pickups, making you a force to be reckoned with when moving through packs of foes who drop items for you to grab.

Next, check out how to unlock the Summoner archetype and all of our Remnant II guides.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are no comments about this story