RBI Baseball 21's Cover Athlete Is Chicago White Sox Slugger Tim Anderson

RBI Baseball 21 is coming in March and it features a White Sox player on the cover for the first time in franchise history.


The start of the 2021 MLB season is coming up quickly, and ahead of that, the developers of RBI Baseball 2021 have announced the cover star for this year's game.

Tim Anderson of the Chicago White Sox will grace the cover of this year's game. Anderson is the first White Sox player to appear on the cover of the RBI Baseball franchise.

Anderson was the 2019 AL batting champion with a .322 batting average and other standout statistics like 45 runs scored and 67 hits.

RBI Baseball is an arcade-style, budget-priced baseball series developed internally by Major League Baseball. New for 2021's game is play-by-play commentary from Fran Charles of the MLB Network, a create-a-player mode, and new environmental effects that showcase the changing light during the day.

"Like a lot of kids, I grew up playing video games," Anderson said in a release. "When I couldn't get outside to play ball or we had bad weather, that was a time to have fun with my friends and live out some fantasies. And it was always cool to see who was on the cover every year – those were guys I aspired to be. So now to see myself on the cover of R.B.I. 21 is really part of a dream come true. And I hope that kids will see my picture on the cover and realize they can do this, too. They just have to believe in themselves, follow their dreams and work at it."

The soundtrack for RBI Baseball 21 has also been announced, and it includes title songs from a variety of famous bands and artists, including All Time Low, American Authors, and Justin Bieber.

RBI Baseball 21 releases in March for PS4, Xbox, and Nintendo Switch; a mobile edition of the game is also in the works.

In other news about baseball video games, Major League Baseball's exclusivity deal with Sony for its The Show series is ending, paving the way for the franchise to appear on other platforms potentially beginning in 2021.

R.B.I. Baseball 21 Track Listing

  • All Time Low - Wake Up, Sunshine
  • American Authors - Brick By Brick
  • Cypress Hill - Champion Sound
  • Diplo ft. Thomas Rhett & Young Thug - Dance With Me
  • Seeb & Julie Bergan - Don't You Wanna Play?
  • The Knocks - Get Happy (NVDES Edit with Blu DeTiger)
  • Joel Corry - Head & Heart (feat. MNEK)
  • R3HAB (feat. A R I Z O N A) - I Can Feel Alive
  • blackbear - i feel bad
  • Paul Woolford & Diplo - Looking For Me (featuring Kareen Lomax)
  • Justin Bieber - Second Emotion (feat. Travis Scott)
  • Saint PHNX - Shake
  • Yez Yez ft. Daphne Willis - We're Back
  • Cold War Kids - Who's Gonna Love Me Now
  • Jasmine Thompson and Zedd - Funny
  • Marcus King - The Well
  • Gryffin & John Martin - Cry
  • Love Fame Tragedy - Riding A Wave
  • Patrick Martin - Stranger Nights
  • The Chainsmokers, Kygo - Family
  • Conan Gray - Maniac

GameSpot may get a commission from retail offers.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are no comments about this story