Rainbow Six Siege Servers Down For Operation Chimera Release On PS4, Xbox One, PC [Update: Servers Back Up]

Operation Chimera is nearly here.

1 Comments
Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Checking Out Rainbow Six Siege Operation Chimera and Outbreak Missions

Update: Rainbow Six Siege server maintenance has now finished, meaning Operation Chimera is out now on PS4, Xbox One, and PC. Original story follows.

On Twitter, Ubisoft stated that each version of the game will go down for an hour as the company launches the update. It'll arrive first on PC, which will be down from 6-7 AM PT / 9-10 AM ET / 2-3 PM GMT. Next, the PS4 version will go down for maintenance and deployment from 7-8 AM PT / 10-11 AM ET / 3-4 PM GMT. Finally, Ubisoft will deploy the update to Xbox One from 8-9 AM PT / 11 AM-12 PM ET / 4-5 PM GMT.

The highlights of Operation Chimera are two new Operators--Lion and Finka--as well as the Outbreak event. Outbreak is a three-player cooperative mode that tasks you and your teammates with fighting back against infected enemies.

The update also tweaks a bunch of Operators. Ela's gun is getting nerfed, while Kapkan's loadout is changing. In addition, Blitz will now be a 2 speed / 2 armor Operator, having previously been 1 speed / 3 armor. For more, check out the Operation Chimera patch notes.

Also starting today, Rainbow Six Siege's 20 base Operators are being given away for free, along with all past and future weapon attachments. Looking further ahead, Ubisoft has revealed a new Siege game mode called Pick & Ban that's coming later this year, reaffirmed its aim to eventually reach 100 Rainbow Six Siege Operators, and stated it does not currently plan on making a sequel.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 1 comments about this story