Rainbow Six Critical Hour announced

Ubisoft's squad-based shooter series gets repackaged with classic, new missions for PlayStation 2, Xbox.


Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Critical Hour

Tom Clancy, well known for being a prolific political- and military-thriller writer, is quickly making a name for himself as one of gaming's most prolific minds. The author has lent his name and expertise to three of Ubisoft's most popular franchises--Ghost Recon, Rainbow Six, and Splinter Cell.

The latest addition to one of the Tom Clancy series is Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Critical Hour for the PlayStation 2 and Xbox, just announced by Ubisoft. Critical Hour brings several of the squad-based shooter's past moments together with new material for a defining Rainbow Six experience.

Eight single-player maps, chosen by fans, will be reworked with current technology and will appear alongside a brand-new seven-mission, single-player campaign. There will also be 18 multiplayer levels for online play.

To promote realism, the gameplay has been slowed down to encourage a more strategic approach to counterterrorism, and several factors, including injury status and body position, effect weapon accuracy. More than 20 weapons and high-tech gadgets are included in the game, and the maps will take gamers to Idaho, Mexico City, Siberia, and more.

Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Critical Hour is priced at $29.99 and has not yet been rated.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

  •   View Comments (0)
    Join the conversation
    There are no comments about this story