QuakeCon 2020 Digital Event Details Revealed

ZeniMax Media has provided details about its all-digital QuakeCon event that starts this August.

Comments

Video game investor ZeniMax Media has outlined this year's QuakeCon. The event, which is scheduled to run from August 7-9, will be completely virtual and features an assortment of livestreams, tournaments, and more you can experience from the comfort of your home during the surging coronavirus pandemic.

Dubbed QuakeCon at Home, this year's all-digital event will kick off with a Global Super Stream that starts on August 7 at 9 AM PT / 12 PM ET / 6 PM CEST / 2 AM AEST. The broadcast will feature "round-the-clock programming with special influencer streams, surprises, and our very own Bethesda Community teams from around the globe--all streaming from home in support of charitable causes." More information, as well as a full stream scheduled, will be divulged in the coming weeks, ZeniMax Media said.

QuakeCon at Home will also have the QuakeCon Twitch Team, where community members can participate in games via Twitch to raise money for the QuakeCon-supported charities. Details on how to join the QuakeCon at Home Twitch Team will be revealed soon.

Additionally, QuakeCon at Home will host the conclusion to its 2019-2020 Quake Pro League season with the Quake World Championship tournament scheduled to take place on August 9 at 2 PM PT / 5 PM ET / 11 PM CEST / 7 AM AEST. The top 24 players in the tournament, playing from the safety of their homes, will compete for $150,000 and the title of Quake Champions' season winner. You can watch it during the Global Super Stream; more details will be revealed later.

ZeniMax Media has also partnered with various charities for QuakeCon at Home. The event will raise money to support charities fighting racial inequality (like the NAACP Legal Defense Fund), advocating for healthcare for all (such as UNICEF), supporting animal rights (including long-time Dallas partners the Dallas Pets Alive and Four Paws), and more. There are also "Dogvahkiin" and "Catodemon" t-shirts available to purchase, as well as QuakeCon at Home gear that can be ordered from Bethesda's European and North American stores.

This news comes almost four months after ZeniMax Media made the decision to cancel the in-person QuakeCon event amidst the ongoing coronavirus pandemic. Even more details about QuakeCon at Home are said to be on the way before the event kicks off in early August.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Top New Video Games Out On Switch, PS4, Xbox One, And PC This Week -- July 12-18, 2020

GameSpot may get a commission from retail offers.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are no comments about this story