PUBG Savage Map Gets New Name, Another Round Of Testing Today

Savage is now officially called Sanhok.

Comments

PlayerUnknown's Battlegrounds' Savage map is returning soon for another round of testing on PC. Developer PUBG Corp. announced it will hold a third beta for the smaller, island-themed map this week, which now goes by a new name: Sanhok.

According to PUBG Corp., the new name is derived from the Thai word for "fun" and the Tagalog word for "chicken," in keeping with the southeast Asian influence behind the map. "This new map is inspired by a wide variety of islands across southeast Asia, including those found in Thailand and the Philippines," the developer explained. "To reflect that inspiration, we invented a sort of hodgepodge combination of two words."

Sanhok enters its next round of testing today, May 10, at 7 PM PT / 10 PM ET (3 AM BST on May 11) and will be playable until 4 AM PT / 7 AM ET / 12 PM BST on May 14. This time, everyone who has purchased the game on Steam will be able to participate. To get in, players will need to download the Experimental Test Server client before the test begins, which will appear automatically in everyone's Steam Library. The same client can be used for future Sanhok tests.

PUBG Corp. says it has made "many fixes and updates" to Sanhok based on the feedback it has received from the previous betas. The exact changes are detailed in the full patch notes for this round of testing, which were released 24 hours ahead of the test.

Sanhok still doesn't have a release date, but it is slated to arrive in the PC version in "a couple of months." Meanwhile, the Xbox One edition of PUBG is also set to receive a new map soon: Miramar. Following a series of closed tests last month, Miramar is expected to launch for the console sometime in May.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: PUBG's New Savage 4x4 Map On The Test Servers

GameSpot may get a commission from retail offers.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are no comments about this story