PS4's Share Button Will Be Useless for Most of Danganronpa V3

Don't rely on the system's Share feature to capture your favorite moments.

25 Comments
Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Danganronpa V3 - PSX 2016 Reveal Trailer

If you've played enough games on PS4, you've likely reached a moment where the system's Share feature becomes unavailable. This is typically to avoid the spread of spoilers that could ruin the experience for others. For the upcoming Danganronpa V3, that moment will consist of virtually the entire game.

"In order to prevent spoilers for Danganronpa V3: Killing Harmony, we are asking for self-restraint in the release of gameplay videos and live streams from Chapter 2 onward," reads a message on the game's website (as translated by Gematsu).

Once you reach Chapter 2, the Share button will be disabled for the remainder of the game. Even if you return to the Prologue or Chapter 1 with a save file that's made it to Chapter 2, you'll still find yourself unable to use it.

This measure might seem extreme, but given the importance of narrative in these games--they're essentially visual novels--it's somewhat understandable. It is unfortunate you won't be able to save videos of your favorite moments to watch later, though.

Being the first game in the series to be released on PS4--the previous three games were for PSP, Vita, and, more recently, PC--this hadn't been an issue up until now.

Danganronpa V3 launches for PS4 and Vita next week in Japan, and sometime later this year around the world. A re-release of the first two games, Danganronpa 1-2 Reload, arrives on PS4 in March in the West.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 25 comments about this story